Leadership Academy Day 2 – Academy Overview – 8/9/15

Today was my first day at the Leadership Academy, it started off with a tour around the facilities. Everything was very new and had a very decorative feel, in terms of NHS facilities, it was very well looked after and very modern.

I had the opportunity to attend a meeting which discussed the success of the new Edward Jenner programme! (Signed up for the next cohort myself), having partly completed the initial Edward Jenner programme, It required a lot of time to dedicate towards it and there was a lot of reading; I can see why it did not suit some people, however these issues have been addressed in the new programme and from having an overview myself looks much improved, and I can’t wait to start on the 1st October!

I was surprised at the amount of programmes the academy offered, and the fact that each one was tailor made for a certain group of people aspiring to move in to the next stage within leadership made it a clear progressive system.

I was excited to find out about the Nye Bevan programme as I was going to be speaking to  the candidates on the programme who were aspiring to move into an executive position the following day.

The day gave me the ability to build on my knowledge of the programmes as well as find out about ones which I didn’t know exist. I had heard about the initiative to put through 5000 nurses on a leadership programme, however I never knew what this programme would be, to see that the leadership academy was heading this up with their frontline staff programme was great.

I was also surprised that the reputation the leadership academy has built, has allowed them to develop a system leaders programme, not just for NHS leaders but for people from other professions such as the Police and Fire Brigade. Therefore giving me a real feel that services were coming together to assist each other with training an education. Something that is often criticised within the press that organisations are not working together enough.

I had an introduction about how the day for the Nye Bevan viva panels would work, and was excited to take part the next day.

Leave a comment